Katie Haines
17th October 2023


Former International student of

New Zealand School of Dance

2nd B Group AHA Awards 2015

Scholarship to




September 19, 2023… Hope Muir, Joan and Jerry Lozinski Artistic Director of The National Ballet of Canada, announced today that Second Soloist Tirion Law is the recipient of the 2023 Rolex Dancers First Award for her debut in the title role of Alexei Ratmansky’s Romeo and Juliet. The award was presented by Stefano Erard, President & CEO of Rolex Canada, at a dinner and presentation in Toronto last night.     

“Tirion Law not only embodied Shakespeare’s tragic story but shone technically in a nuanced performance of great maturity and strength. I am thrilled her exceptional debut as Juliet has been recognized with 2022/23 Rolex Dancers First Award,” said Muir.  

The Rolex Dancers First Award recognizes outstanding performances in the previous season and is juried by a committee of members of the National Ballet’s Artistic Staff. Law made her debut as Juliet in June 2023, dancing opposite Principal Dancer Naoya Ebe as Romeo. At the ceremony, Law was presented with a specially engraved Rolex watch.  

Born in Hong Kong, Law trained at The New Zealand School of Dance. She danced with Hong Kong Ballet before joining The National Ballet of Canada’s Corps de Ballet in 2018 and was promoted to Second Soloist in 2022. 

Tirion Law’s Biography > 

Law will next appear onstage in the National Ballet’s Fall Season which opens with a mixed programme featuring the world premiere of Helen Pickett’s Emma Bovary and the Canadian premiere of James Kudelka’s Passion, November 11 – 18, 2023, followed by John Cranko’s Onegin, November 22 – 26, 2023.  

More on Emma Bovary and Passion > 

More on Onegin > 

The National Ballet of Canada is grateful to the donors who currently support 25 dancer sponsorships as well as Rolex Canada who support the Dancers First programme with funds for artistic development, performance opportunities and health and wellness resources for all our dancers. 

Since its inception, Rolex has encouraged individual excellence and the pursuit of perfection. In keeping with this long tradition, Rolex continues to contribute to the arts world through its various sponsorship activities. Rolex Canada has generously sponsored the Rolex Dancers First Award since 2010.   

– 30 –

The Rolex Dancers First Award is generously sponsored by Rolex Canada Ltd. 
Emma Bovary is produced and commissioned by The National Ballet of Canada.   

Lead philanthropic support for Emma Bovary is provided by The Anna McCowan-Johnson New Creations Fund and The Producers’ Circle and with generous underwriting by the Sabourin Family Foundation.  

The Producers’ Circle (2023): Gail & Mark Appel, John & Claudine Bailey, Laura Dinner & Richard Rooney, Gail Drummond & Bob Dorrance, Ira Gluskin & Maxine Granovsky Gluskin, The William & Nona Heaslip Foundation, Anna McCowan-Johnson & Donald K. Johnson, O.C., Judy Korthals & Peter Irwin, Mona & Harvey Levenstein, Jerry Lozinski, O.C. & Joan Lozinski, O.C., The Honourable Margaret Norrie McCain, C.C., Julie Medland, Sandra Pitblado, C.M. & Jim Pitblado, C.M., The Harry & Lillian Seymour Family Foundation, The Jack Weinbaum Family Foundation and Alexander Younger & Sarah Richardson.   

Passion is generously supported by The Gail Hutchison Fund. The National Ballet also acknowledges support provided by Anne-Marie Canning.  

Onegin is generously supported by an anonymous friend of the National Ballet.  

The National Ballet of Canada gratefully acknowledges the ongoing support of the Canada Council for the Arts; the Ontario Arts Council; the City of Toronto through the Toronto Arts Council; the Government of Canada – Department of Canadian Heritage, through The Honourable Pablo Rodriguez, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Multiculturalism; and the Government of Ontario through The Honourable Neil Lumsden, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport. 

Hope Muir, Stefano Erard and Tirion Law. Photo by Bruce Zinger.